Who Qualifies?

Find out who qualifies for the Supplier Diversity Program.

Small Business: Not dominant in the field of operation in which it is bidding; independently owned and operated; organized for profit; located in the U.S.; operated primarily within the United States or making a significant contribution to the U.S. economy through payment of taxes or use of American products, materials or labor; qualifies as a small business under criteria and size standards in 13 CFT Part 121.1 Seq. (Companies must be certified by System for Award Management (SAM).)

Minority Business Enterprise (MBE): A for-profit enterprise presently located in the U.S. or its trust territories that is at least 51 percent owned and operated by a U.S. citizen(s) who is a member of one of the following groups: 

  • African American: Black racial groups of Africa 
  • Hispanic American: Spanish or Portuguese speaking areas of Latin American or the following regions: Mexico, Central America, South America and the Caribbean basin 
  • Native American: American Indian, Eskimo, Aleut and Native Hawaiian. Individuals must be regarded as such by the community of which the person claims to be a part. Native Americans must be documented members of a North American tribe, band or otherwise organized group of native people who are indigenous to the continental United States or who otherwise have a special relationship with the United States or a state through treaty, agreement or some other form of recognition 
  • Asian Pacific: Japan, China, Indonesia, Malaysia, Taiwan, Korea, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, the Philippines, Thailand, Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Trust Territories of the Pacific or the Northern Marianas 
  • Asian Indian: India, Pakistan and Bangladesh
  • Alaskan Native: indigenous to Alaska